shopping-bag 0
Items : 0
Subtotal : $0.00
View Cart Check Out

History Club History


The Hoppers Crossing Soccer Club was founded and known as Mossfiel Rangers Soccer Club in 1971 by Ken Slack, Ray Wilkinson, Stan Walkden and Ron Tutchell.

The clubs first ground was on land where Karobran kindergarten is now located and the rest is now housing. Spring Drive; Mossfiel Drive and Fraser Street formed the boundary of the first ground; land was provided by Baden Powell.

MRSC bus trip


The club changed its name in 1991 to affiliate itself with the ever expanding Hoppers Crossing area and to promote the club locally.

Seniors / reserves started competitive matches in 1976 including the Qantas Cup; these teams were entered in the Victorian Soccer Federation District Leagues.

In 1979 and 1980 the club played in the Amateur League, in fact highlights included finishing second in the League and Cup in 1980. Hoppers then entered the Victorian Soccer Federation Provisional League in 1981.

The home of the Reds had been Mossfiel Reserve in Hoppers Crossing since 1974 This changed in September 2005 when the REDS moved to the Grange Reserve.

The club strip originated as a red body with gold sleeves, black shorts and red socks (the same format as the Arsenal Soccer Club shirt). No other club had these colours at the time, so you could say Mossfiel Rangers decided to be ‘radical’.

Although the club strip has changed in style the clubs passion has not.

To view history in relation to the leagues please see the Victorian League Archive.


R Tutchell(dec), K Slack(dec), S Walkden, R Wilkinson, G Gibb, P Wilkinson, C Barron, P Martin, P Taliana(dec), R Williams, H Martin, G Elliot, J Russell, S Lowe, M McLean, R Clay, E Slack(dec), K Murray, M Kearney, A McGowan, C McDermott, S Page, J Taliana, L Doig, J Gribben


1973 U11’s League Runners Up
1973 U11’s League Runners Up
1974 U12’s League Runners Up
1975 U13’s League Runners Up
1976 U13’s Victorian Cup Winners
1976 U14’s League Runners Up
1976 U14’s Victorian Cup Runners Up
1976 U15’s League Winners
1977 U15’s League Runners Up
1977 U15’s Melbourne Cup Winners
1979 Seniors Amateur League Runners Up
1979 Seniors Amateur League Cup Runners Up
1980 Reserves Provisional League 3 League Winners
1981 Reserves Provisional League League Winners
1981 Reserves Provisional League Cup Runners Up
1983 Reserves Provisional League Cup Runners Up
1985 Reserves Provisional League Cup Winners
1989 Reserves Provisional League Cup Runners Up
1991 Reserve League Winners
1993 Provisional League Reserves Cup Winners
1994 Old Boys League Winners
1995 U11’s League Winners
1999 Seniors Provisional League Winners
2000 U11’s League Runners Up
2000 U12’s League Runners Up
2001 Seniors Provisional League Winners
2003 U11 A League Winners
2005 U16’s League Winners
2010 Provisional League Division 2 Reserve Champions
2012 Provisional League Division 2 Senior Champions
2013 U15B’s League runners up
2013 U15C’s League runners up
2014 U15B’s League runners up
2014 State League 4 West Reserve Champions
2014 State League 4 West Senior Champions
2015 U14A’s League Runners Up
2015 U15B’s League Champions
2015 U13B’s League Champions
2015 Metro 5 Nth/West Champions
2015 State League 3 Nth/West Champions
2016 U15A’s League Champions
2016 U13A’s League runners up
2016 Men’s Metropolitan Nth/West 3 runners up
2016 Women’s State League 4 West Champions
2016 Women’s State League 4 Champions


1972 D Slack
1973 D Slack, P Wilkinson, M Hardaker, B Lawrenson
1974 D Slack, M Paisley, S McGarrigle, N Protheroe, P Clayton
1975 N Protheroe, P Clayton, I Donnelly
1976 N Protheroe, P Clayton, I Donnelly, R Hands
1977 N Protheroe, P Clayton, R Hands
1981 R Kettensteiner
1984 J Melrose, L Kearney (Ladies), E Milloy (Ladies)
1996 K Bilos, A Slack

1984 Provisional League 3 Best & Fairest – Nat Little
1987 Provisional League 2 Best & Fairest – Jimmy Leonard
1988 Provisional League 1 Best & Fairest – Jimmy Leonard
1999 Provisional League 2 NW Best & Fairest – Dragi Mitrevski and Scott Murray
1999 Provisional League 2 NW Top Goalscorer – Dragi Mitrevski (18 goals)
2001 Provisional League 1 NW Best & Fairest – Ken Smart
2006 Provisional League 1 NW Top Goalscorer – Robert Nedelkov (25 goals)
2012 Provisional League 2 NW Best & Fairest – Zia Sherzai
2012 Provisional League 2 NW Top Goalscorer – Alister Smart (18 goals)
2014 State League 4 West Best & Fairest – Zia Sherzai